Where to start?

You gotta start somewhere, right?

I started with my gym membership.  We have a family membership that we pay way too much for and only gets used when the kids take a swim lesson or when one of my friends encourages me to take a class with them.

I decided I need to just go.  I am aiming for 3 times a week.  First thing I did was drop the kids off at the daycare and headed to the water fountain.  I was so proud of myself for my renewed efforts that I had purchased a cute little water bottle.  I guess my theory was if I carried this fancy water bottle, people would admire it rather than my huge butt.  Who knows if it worked.  Next to the water fountain is the scale.  It taunted me.  I have always believed that scales were evil, so we have never purchased a scale.  What good is it to harp on your weight?  It is how the clothes fit on you, right?

I convinced myself that if I was going to monitor my progress I needed to have a baseline though, so I conquered my fears and stepped on.  Immediately, I regretted this decision.  The number that flashed made me want to cry. 176.  That cannot be right, I thought.  Of course it wasn’t.  I was still holding the water bottle and the water bottle alone had to be 5 pounds at least!

So I put the bottle down and stepped on it again.  I was a bit disappointed that it only weighed a pound.  Ladies and Gentleman… I weigh 175 pounds.  My dress size is a 14, although I still smash myself into a 12 whenever possible.  So this is my starting point.

2 thoughts on “Where to start?

  1. Megan says:

    Tara,
    My start weight is only 3lbs less then yours 😦 I am happy to meet you for a class ANYTIME!

Leave a Reply

